Skip to main content

Council Of Europe

Volume 210: debated on Thursday 25 June 1992

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Prime Minister if he will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation for the 44th session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The 44th session parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe was opened in Strasbourg on 4 May. The next meeting of this session will be held in Budapest on 30 June, and the delegation from the United Kingdom, for this meeting and the remainder of the session, will consist of 19 Members of the Conservative party, 15 Members of the Labour party and two Members from the minority parties.The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the parties concerned.The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the assembly of the Western European Union, which next meets in Paris on 30 November 1992.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be:

  • Sir Geoffrey Finsberg becomes Lord Finsberg on 27 June.
  • He will be a member of the delegation, and its leader, in his
  • capacity as a member of the upper House.

The hon. Members for:

  • Warwick and Leamington (Sir Dudley Smith)
  • Calder Valley (Sir Donald Thompson)
  • Twickenham (Mr. Toby Jessel)
  • Poole (Mr. John Ward)
  • Ashford (Sir Keith Speed)
  • Medway (Dame Peggy Fenner)
  • Lewes (Mr. Tim Rathbone)
  • Bournemouth, East (Mr. David Atkinson)
  • and the Earl of Dundee

Representatives from the Labour party will be:

  • The hon. Members for:
  • Wentworth (Mr. Peter Hardy)
  • Tooting (Mr. Tom Cox)
  • Wansbeck (Mr. Jack Thompson)
  • Newham, North West (Mr. Tony Banks)
  • Don Valley (Mr. Martin Redmond)
  • Manchester, Central (Mr. Robert Litherland)
  • and Lord Kirkhill

The representative from the minority parties will be:

  • The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir Russell Johnston)
  • The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches:

  • Reading, West (Sir Tony Durant)
  • Norfolk, North (Mr. Ralph Howell)
  • Brighton, Kemptown (Mr. Andrew Bowden)
  • Ravensbourne (Sir John Hunt)
  • Wellingborough (Mr. Peter Fry)
  • Bridlington (Mr. John Townend)
  • Newark (Mr. Richard Alexander)
  • Lord Newall and Baroness Hooper

From the Labour Benches:

  • Pollok (Mr. James Dunnachie)
  • Greenock and Port Glasgow (Dr. Norman Godman)
  • Newport, East (Mr. Roy Hughes)
  • Easington (Mr. John Cummings)
  • Leigh (Mr. Lawrence Cunliffe)
  • Leicester, South (Mr. James Marshall)
  • Hodge Hill (Mr. Terry Davis)
  • and Baroness Lockwood

From the minority parties:

  • Lord Mackie of Benshie