Skip to main content

General National Vocational Qualification

Volume 210: debated on Tuesday 30 June 1992

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Employment which schools and colleges are intending to pilot the new GNVQ post-16 courses in September.

As at 26 June 1992, around 90 schools and colleges plan to participate in the first phase of the implementation of GNVQ post-16 courses in September this year. The schools and colleges are located throughout England, Wales and Northern Ireland. The following is the full list of schools and colleges but may be subject to minor variation between now and September.

List of centres for September 1992 GNVQ implementation (as at 26 June)
Each centre will offer GNVQs through one awarding body, either BTEC, C and G or RSA
Airedale and Wharfdale college/Kitson college consortiumLeeds
Alcester grammar schoolAlcester, Warwickshire
Amersham and Wycombe college (FE)High Wycombe
Barnfield collegeLuton, Bedfordshire
Barnsley collegeBarnsley, Yorkshire
Belfast consortium: Belfast Institute of FE and HE, St. Patrick's secondary schoolBelfast
Bilston community college (FE)Wolverhampton
Bishop Douglass schoolFinchley, North London
Blackburn collegeLancashire
Blackpool and Fylde college/Wigan and Leigh consortiumBlackpool
Blue school (The)Wells, Somerset
Builth Wells high schoolPowys
Bury metropolitan collegeLancashire
Buxton community schoolBuxton, Derbyshire
Calderdale college of FEHalifax
Castle high schoolDeal, Kent
Castlereagh college/Lagan collegeBelfast, HI
Coventry technical collegeCoventry
Crawley collegeWest Sussex
Driffield schoolNorth Humberside
East Sussex consortium Lewes college/Bexhill college/Cardinal Newman school/Uplands community schoolEast Sussex
Eastbourne college of arts and technologyEastbourne, East Sussex
Ellen Wilkinson highschoolWest London
Farnborough college of technologyHampshire
Farnham college 6th formFarnham, Surrey
Ferndown upper schoolDorset
Gateshead collegeGateshead
Gloucestershire college of arts and technologyGloucestershire
Gorseinon collegeSwansea, Wales
Greenhead college (6th form college)Huddersfield
Greenhill collegeHarrow, Middlesex
Guildford college/Kingston college consortiumSurrey
Gyfun YsgolBargoed, Mid Glamorgan
Henley collegeCoventry
Hertfordshire LEA consortium/ Hertford regional college/North Herts college/Oaklands collegeHertfordshire
Hirst high schoolNorthumberland
Hull college of FEHull
John Ruskin (6th form college)South Croydon
Josiah Mason college (6th form college)Birmingham
Kingshurst CTCBirmingham
Leigh CTCKent



Lliswerry schoolNewport
Lord Williams schoolOxon
Lytchett Minster schoolDorset
Manchester college of arts and technologyManchester
Matthew Boulton/Wakefield district college consortiumBirmingham/Wakefield
Mid Kent college of HE and FEMaidstone, Kent
Minsthorpe high schoolWakefield
Monkswearmouth collegeSunderland
Mortimer Wilson schoolDerbyshire
N East London collegeHaringey, London N1
Nelson Tomlinson schoolWigton, Cumbria
Newcastle CATNewcastle Upon Tyne
North Lindsay collegeScunthorpe
Nottinghamshire college of FE (schools consortium)Mansfield, Notts.
NWIHFE consortium: NW Inst. of FE and HE, Foyle and Londonderry, Thornhill colleges, St. Marys, St. CecLondonderry
Parkwood/Loxley college consortiumSheffield
Peterlee collegeDurham
Plymouth college of FEDevon
Portsmouth 6th form collegePortsmouth
Purbeck schoolDorset
Queen Elizabeth's schoolDorset
Queens Park community schoolLondon NW6
Samuel Whitbread schoolBedfordshire
Sandwell collegeW. Midlands
Scarborough technical collegeN. Yorkshire
Sherburn high schoolN. Yorkshire
St. Andrews schoolSurrey
St. Brendans 6th form collegeBristol
St. Chads schoolCheshire
St. Charles catholic schoolW. London
St. Peters schoolDorset
St. Helens community/South Manchester/Wirral Metropolitan college consortiumNorth West
Stamford college FEStamford, Lines
Stantonbury CampusMilton Keynes
Stockton-Billingham technical collegeBillingham
Sutton high schoolLiverpool
Swanwick Hall schoolDerbyshire
Tamar Valley consortium Eggbuckland, Estover, Lipson, St. Bonifaces colleges/Southway and Tamarside schoolsPlymouth, Devon
Tewkesbury schoolGloucestershire
Walsall TVEI consortium Bluecoat, Manor Farm Schools, Walsall colleges of art and technologyWest Midlands
Weatherhead high schoolMerseyside
West Nottinghamshire college of FEMansfield,
Whitby Co high schoolWirral
Whitby schoolN. Yorkshire
Witham 6th formEssex
WJEC (schools consortium) BridgendNewport, Pembrokeshire and Pontypridd collegesWales
Wootton Bassett schoolWiltshire
York schoolCarlisle, Cumbria