Skip to main content

Public Appointments

Volume 227: debated on Monday 28 June 1993

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster if he will list the names, occupations and current employers of those who currently hold positions in each public body to which he makes appointments; if he will make a statement on the considerations taken into account when making such appointments; and if he will list details of the posts and salaries of allowances payable which have changed since the publication of "Public Bodies 1992".

[holding answer 25 June 1993]: The Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster makes appointments to the following non-departmental public bodies:The Civil Service Appeal Board; Agricultural and Food Research Council; Economic and Social Research Council; Medical Research Council; Natural Environment Research Council; Science and Engineering Research Council; and the Advisory Board for the Research Councils.The members of the Civil Service Appeal Board are as follows:Mr. P. Adams, OBE; Mr. A. Bennett, MBE; Mr. M. S. Buckley; Mrs. C. Coltman; Mr. K. Crowley; Miss P. Downs (Chairman); Mr. F. W. Edmunds, BEM; Miss B. Findlay; Mr. M. T. Foulkes; Mr. W. M. Francis, BEM; Mr. J. H. Gracey, CB; Mr. T. W. Hall; Mr. G. Harpin; Mr. R. M. Hastie-Smith, CB; Mr. P. D. Jones (Deputy Chairman); Miss Kelley, CB; Mr. R. W. King, BEM; Mr. N. F. Ledsome, CB; Mrs. S. P. Maunsell; Mr. N. E. A. Moore; Mr. R. W. Morgan, MBE; Mrs. M. Morrison, BEM; Mr. J. Nicholson; Mr. P. Palmer; Mr. J. Pennington; Mr. J. Renton, MBE; Mr. K. Richards; Mr. M. Ridout; Mr. J. Roberts, CB; Ms S, Scott-Anderson; Mrs. A. B. Sloman; Mr. A. Smith; Mr. A. Stem; Mr. J. W. Stevens, CB, (Deputy Chairman); Mr. N. Tout, BEM.The members of the Research Councils are as follows:

Agricultural and Food Research Council:

Professor T. L. Blundell (Secretary and Deputy Chairman); Dr. P. J. Bunyan; Mr. C. R. Cann; Professor E. C. D. Cocking; Professor J. R. Coggins; Sir Sam Edwards; Professor W. P. T. James, CBE; Mr. D. F. R. George, OBE; Sir M. Alastair Grant (Chairman); Mr. E. Gill; Professor R. M. Hicks, OBE; Professor G. Horn; Mr. R. Knapman;

Professor J. R. Krebs; Professor C. J. Leaver; Dr. T. Little; Mr. K. J. MacKenzie; Professor T. A. Mansfield; Mr. J. L. C. Provan; Mr. G. T. Pryce; Dr. D. W. F. Shannon; Professor W. V. Shaw.

Economic and Social Research Council:

Ms J. Abramsky; Dr. D. Anderson; Professor M. Anderson; Professor J. M. Ashworth; Professor J. Beaumount; Professor V. Bruce; Dr. W. Daniel; Mrs. E. J. Filkin; Mr. J. Fox; Mr. N. Glass; Miss C. Hancock; Dr. J. Harbison; Professor D. Hargreaves; Professor A. Hay; Professor H. J. Newby (Chairman); Professor D. Kavanagh; Professor S. J. Nickell; Mr. G. T. Pepper; Mrs. M. Tuck, CBE.

Medical Research Council:

Professor I. V. Allen; Professor D. T. Baird; Mr. R. Bauman; Sir Colin Berry; Professor A. M. Breckenridge; Mr. K. C. Calman; Sir Michael Carlisle; Dr. J. T. Carter; Dr. P. Doyle; Professor C. R. W. Edwards; Professor J. G. Evans; Dr. R. E. Kendall; Sir Aaron Klug; Miss E. Nicholson, MP; Professor J. R. Pattison; Professor M. Peckham; Sir David Plastow (Chairman); Sir Dai Rees (Deputy Chairman and Secretary); Professor Sir Michael Rutter; Professor Sir David Weatherall.

Natural Environment Research Council:

Professor J. R. L Allen; Dr. P. J. Bunyan; Professor W. Chaloner; Lord Chorley; Professor C. D. Curtis; Dr. D. J. Fisk; Dr. I. Graham-Bryce; Professor M. P. Hassell; Professor B. J. Hoskins; Professor J. Knill (Chairman); Professor P. S. Liss; Dr. R. Jan Pentreath; Professor D. A. Ritchie; Mr. D. G. M. Roberts; Dr. G. W. Robinson; Dr. O Rogne; Professor J. I. Sprent; Professor S. A. Thorpe; Professor D. S. Wood.

Science and Engineering Research Council:

Professor Philip Burke; Mr. D. Davis; Professor S. Donnachie; Sir Gerard Fairtlough CBE; Dr. K. Gray CBE; Professor R. Hester; Dr. G. Higginson; Dr. S. Iverson; Dr. A. Ledwith; Professor S. Mason; Sir R. Oxburgh KBE; Sir Mark Richmond (Chairman); Dr. G. W. Robinson; Professor J. Stuart; Professor J. Thomas; Professor D. Wallace; Professor Arnold Wolfendale; Professor R. E. Smallman CBE; Mr. J. Spiers.

Advisory Board for the Research Councils:

Professor Sir Eric Ash CBE; Professor T. L. Blundell; Professor D. A. Currie; Dr. A. Ganguly; Professor R. L. Gardner; Professor M. Hart; Professor J. L. Knill; Professor H. J. Newby; Sir David Phillips; Sir Dai Rees; Sir Mark Richmond; Professor I. A. Shanks.

It is not our practice to provide details about occupations and current employers. Such information is a personal matter for individual members. However, when making appointments, my right hon. Friend follows the standard guidance that a part-time member of a public board should not hold any outside appointments which would be incompatible with devoting due time and attention to public duties. Risk of conflict between a member's private interests and the requirements of the public service are required to be minimised and seen to be so.

Members of the Civil Service Appeal Board are appointed on the basis of their past experience of civil service personnel matters. The daily fee changed on 1 April 1993 to £221 for the chairman and £113 for others.

Members of the research councils are appointed on the basis of their expertise and experience in the field to which the research council relates. The current position regarding the remuneration of members of the research councils is as follows:

Agricultural and food research council

  • Chairman: £12,270
  • Deputy: £67,482
  • Members: £4,600

Economic and social research council

  • Chairman: £62,504
  • Members: £4,600

Medical research council

  • Chairman: £6,140
  • Deputy: £98,328
  • Members: £4,600

Natural environment research council

  • Chairman: £64,787
  • Members: £4,600

Science and engineering research council

  • Chairman: £82,925
  • Members: £4,600–£6,140

Advisory board for the research councils

  • Chairman: £69,470
  • Members: £4,600