Skip to main content

Welsh Language Projects

Volume 228: debated on Thursday 8 July 1993

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will list the specific Welsh language projects which he has funded since 1987 under section 21 of the Education Act 1980; and what plans he has to fund further such projects.

A wide variety of activities has been funded under section 21 of the Education Act 1980 since April 1987. These activities range from long-term programmes extending over many years to the production of a single school book. While it is not possible to define these important activities as separate projects, the list sets out all the organisations which have been funded under this scheme.

County councils
  • Clwyd
  • Dyfed
  • Gwent
  • Gwynedd
  • Mid Glamorgan
  • Powys
  • South Glamorgan
  • West Glamorgan
Resource Centres
  • Canolfan Astudiaethau Iaith, Bangor
  • National Language Unit, Treforest
  • UC Aberystwyth—Resources Centre
  • Welsh Joint Education Committee
  • Welsh Language Education Development Committee (PDAG)
Theatre in education TIE companies
  • Clwyd TIE
  • Coracle
  • Crwban
  • Cyfri 3
  • Fran Wen
  • Gwent TIE
  • Iolo Morgannwg
  • Man a Man
  • Powys TIE
  • West Glamorgan TIE
Other organisations
  • Acen
  • Agricultural Training Board
  • BBC Educational Broadcasts
  • Cardiff Institute of Higher Education
  • Centre for Alternative Technology
  • Clwyd Language Centre
  • Coleg Normal Bangor
  • Consortium for Assessment and Testing in Schools (CATS) Cymru
  • Council for Education in World Citizenship (CEWC)
  • Cyngor y Dysgwyr (Welsh Learners Council)
  • David Watson (Computer Project)
  • Eisteddfod yr Urdd Taff Elai (Urdd Eisteddfod at Taff Ely)
  • Gwent College of Higher Education
  • Gwynedd Health Authority
  • Keep Wales Tidy
  • London Welsh School
  • Media Education Centre (MEC)
  • Microelectronics Unit (MEU) Cymru
  • Mid Glamorgan Fire Service
  • National Centre for Religious Education
  • National Educational Resources Information Service (NERIS)
  • National Language Centre, Nant Gwrtheyrn
  • National Museum Schools Service
  • National Scientific Association
  • North East Wales Institute
  • Pili Palas
  • Pioneers
  • Rhieni Dros Addysg Gymraeg (Parents for Welsh Medium Education)
  • Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
  • School Broadcasting Council for Wales
  • School Curriculum Development Council
  • School Curriculum Industry Partnership
  • South Glamorgan Institute of Higher Education
  • Student Bursary Scheme
  • Techniquest
  • The Welsh Collegium
  • Trinity College, Carmarthen
  • UC Aberystwyth
  • UC Bangor
  • UC Cardiff
  • UC London (Speech Therapy project)
  • UC Swansea
  • University of Glamorgan (formerly Polytechnic of Wales)
  • University of Wales Registry
  • University of Wales Welsh Language Teaching Centre
  • Urdd Gobaith Cymru
  • Wales Youth Work Partnership
  • Welsh Books Council
  • Welsh College of Music and Drama
  • West Glamorgan Institute of Higher Education
  • Women into Science and Engineering (WISE)
  • Workers Education Association
  • Zoological Society of Wales
A circular inviting applications for funding next year will be issued shortly.