Skip to main content

Vocational Qualifications

Volume 228: debated on Thursday 8 July 1993

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Education if he will make a statement about the new general national vocational qualifications.

I have today announced that the three levels of GNVQ should in future be known by names rather than numbers:

  • "Advanced" for Level 3,
  • "Intermediate" for Level 2, and
  • "Foundation" for Level 1.
"Advanced" GNVQs—or "vocational A Levels" will help pupils, students, parents, teachers, higher education and employers to understand that these GNVQs require a level of achievement equivalent to two GCE A-Levels.