Skip to main content


Volume 233: debated on Thursday 25 November 1993

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what will be done with the toxic effluent arising from the excavations for the Nirex low level radioactive waste repository.

Construction and operation of the Nirex repository will be undertaken in accordance with the statutory controls.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what volume of rock and spoil will be or has been removed in the construction of (a) the reference design for the Nirex low and intermediate level radioactive waste depository and (b) the channel tunnel.

United Kingdom Nirex Ltd. is currently working on the estimated volumes of spoil to be removed in the construction of the planned deep disposal facility for intermediate and low level radioactive waste. I have arranged for the chairman of United Kingdom Nirex Ltd. to write to the hon. Gentleman. Some 7·5 million cubic metres have been excavated in building the channel tunnel.

Derek Wanless (Chair)Group Chief ExecutiveNational Westminster Bank plc
John BakerChief ExecutiveNational Power PLC
Peter Bonfield CBEChairman and Chief ExecutiveICL plc
Cedric BrownChief ExecutiveBritish Gas plc
Ann BurdusNon-executive Director7Dawsons International
Rodney ChaseManaging DirectorBritish Petroleum Company plc
Mike ClasperManaging Director and Vice-PresidentProcter and Gambke Europe
David DaviesChairmanJohnson Matthey PLC
Peter DaviesManaging DirectorDHL International (UK) Limited
Oliver DoubledayBax Farm
Richard GambleGroup Chief ExecutiveRoyal Insurance PLC
Ian Gibson CBEChief Executive and Managing DirectorNissan Motor Manufacturing (UK)Ltd
Christopher HaskinsChairman and Chief ExecutiveNorthern Foods plc
Roger HewittChief ExecutiveShanks and McEwan Group plc
Derek HiggsDeputy ExecutiveS.G. Warburg & Co. Ltd
Ron HugginsManaging DirectorKimberly-Clark Limited
Sir Gordon JonesChairmanYorkshire Water plc
Martin Laing CBEChairmanJohn Laing PLC
Robert LawtonLawton Farms
David MalpasManaging DirectorTesco PLC
Jean Parker CBEDirectorVacu-Lung Traction Tyres Ltd
Robin PaulDeputy-Chairman and Managing DirectorAlbright and Wilson Ltd
George PhillipsonChairmanRedland Aggregated Ltd
Sir Antony PilkingtonChairmanPilkington plc
John SpeirsManaging DirectorNorsk Hydro (UK) Ltd
Geoff Turnbull MBEChairmanGT Group Limited
Alan SmithManaging DirectorB&Q Plc