Skip to main content

Local Government Reorganisation

Volume 268: debated on Tuesday 12 December 1995

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what resources he will make available to authorities that have been or are to be reorganised on 1 April 1995, 1996 or 1997 for reorganisation costs incurred by them in 1995–96, and if he will make a statement.[3687]

[pursuant to his reply, 29 November 1995, c. 733–34: An error occurred in the figures given in the answer. The maximum amounts that it would be appropriate to allocate towards the amount of expenditure by local authorities on transitional costs of reorganisation in 1995–96 are:

Maximum amounts: £000 rounded
Authority1995–96Total 1994–95 and 1995–96
Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight Council1,7503,937

Maximum amounts: £000 rounded



Total 1994–95 and 1995–96


Cleveland Council council2,500
Hartlepool Borough Council3,2003,748
Langbaurgh on Tees Borough Council2,5502,637
Middlesborough Borough Council2,1602,354
Stockton on Tees Borough Council2,9303,428


Avon County Council2,500
Bristol City Council3,000
Woodspring District Council3,250
In Bath and North-east Somerset, of which:3,000
Bath and North-east Somerset council1,810
Bath City Counsil600
Wandsdyde District Council590
In South Glocestershire of which:3,000
South Gloucestershire Council1,800
Kingswood Borough Council650
Northavon District Council550


Humberside County Council2,500
Hull City Council3,000
In the East Riding of Yorkshire, of which:3,200
East Riding of Yorkshire Council1,200
Beverley Borough Council650
Boothferry Borough Council300
East Yorkshire Borough Council550
Holderness Borough Council500
In North Lincolnshire, of which:2,900
North Lincolnshire Council1,800
Glanford Borough Council550
Scunthrope Borough Council550
In North-east Lincolnshire, of which:2,950
North-east Lincolnshire Mr. Curry1,900
Cleethorpes Borough Council550
Great Grimsby600

North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire County Council1,000
Rydedale District Council410
Selby District Council510
In York, of which:3,000
York District Council2,550
York City Council450