Skip to main content

Specialist Registrars

Volume 404: debated on Monday 28 April 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Health what assessment he has made of the number of hospitals in England in which there are (a) fewer than six and (b) fewer than 10 established specialist registrars. [109136]

The information requested is shown in the table.

England 30 September 2001
Standard ChusterRegistrar group (total number of staff)Number of trusts with fewer than 10 registrarsNumber of trust with fewer than 6 registrars
Acute specialist56711
Acute specialist (children) 31900
Acute teaching5,36100
Large Acute2,52500
Large Multi-service44600
Medium Acute1,26300
Medium Multi-service34830
Priority single service1479107
Small Acute89922
Small Multi-service3721
Specialised community25614836
1Priority single service consists of learning disability & mental health hospitals.
2Specialised community cluster consists of community hospitals with mental health and care trusts.


Excludes organisations with no staff in the registrar group.


Department of Health Medical & Dental workforce census.