Skip to main content

University Charters

Volume 404: debated on Monday 28 April 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the President of the Council which establishments have had university charters conferred on them since 1973. [109644]

Only two universities have been incorporated by charter in the relevant period, but charters have also been granted to a number of other higher education institutions. Full details are given in the following table:

Universities (two)
University of Buckingham11 February 1983
University of Ulster31 July 1984
Cambridge (six)
Darwin College, Cambridge9 June 1976
Wolfson College, Cambridge27 October 1976
Clare Hall, Cambridge12 September 1984
Robinson College, Cambridge30 October 1984
Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge22 July 1997
St. Edmunds College, Cambridge22 April 1998
Oxford (five)
Wolfson College, Oxford18 February 1981
Linacre College, Oxford5 June 1986
Mansfield College, Oxford11 April 1995
Templeton College, Oxford11 April 1995
Manchester College, Oxford23 November 1995
University of London (four)
Queen Mary and Westfield College2 August 1989
Goldsmith's College, University of London1 November 1989
University of London Institute of Education10 June 1987
King's College, London113 February 1980
Others (seven)
College of Law12 November 1975
London Graduate School of Business Studies8 July 1986
College of Ophthalmologists23 March 1988
The Henley Management College21 May 1991
Royal College of Anaesthetists11 February 1992
The College of Optometrists28 June 1995
College Paediatrics and Child Health23 July 1996
1 First awarded charter in 1829 then a new charter in 1980.