Skip to main content

Privy Council

Volume 404: debated on Monday 28 April 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the President of the Council for which countries the Privy Council remains the highest court of law. [109643]

The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council is the court of final appeal for United Kingdom overseas territories, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man and the following countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Brunei
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Kiribati
  • Mauritius
  • New Zealand
  • St. Christopher and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu.
In the case of Brunei the Judicial Committee advises the Sultan of Brunei as to how the appeal should be determined, and in the cases of the Republics of Dominica, Kiribati, Mauritius and Trinidad and Tobago the Judicial Committee itself determines the appeal. In all other cases the appeal lies to Her Majesty in Council, to whom the Judicial Committee gives its advice.In the case of Brunei, appeals lie to the Judicial Committee in civil cases only, and in the case of Kiribati appeals lie only in constitutional cases affecting a Banaban.