Skip to main content

Environment Agency

Volume 405: debated on Monday 19 May 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs if she will list (a) the members of the Board of Directors of the Environment Agency and their declared party political affiliations and (b) appointments made to the Board of Directors of the Environment Agency since 1 May 1997 and their declared party political affiliations. [111105]

The current Board members are:

  • Sir John Harman (Chairman)
  • Barbara Young (Chief Executive)
  • Councillor Colin Beandwood
  • Mr. Ted Cantle
  • Mr. Andrew Dare CBE
  • Mr. John Edmonds
  • Professor Richard Macrory CBE
  • Mr. Gerald Manning OBE
  • Professor Peter Matthews
  • Professor Jacqueline McGlade
  • Ms Sara Parkin OBE
  • Professor Donald Ritchie
  • Dr. Lyndon Stanton
  • Mr. Gareth Wardell
  • Professor Lynda Warren
Members of the Environment Agency's Board are required to complete questions in their application form about political activity, and not their political affiliation unless they are politically active. These application forms are held by my Department, and four reflect political activity at the time of appointment. Sir John Harman has declared his affiliation to the Labour Party, but resigned his party political positions after being appointed as Chairman of the Agency's Board. In her application for the post of Chief Executive, which carries with it automatic membership of the Board, Baroness Young listed her position as working Labour peer, but she resigned the Whip upon her appointment. John Edmonds has declared membership of the Labour Party National Policy Forum and Commission, and Councillor Colin Beardwood has declared that he is a member of the Labour Party and serves on Worcestershire County Council and West Midlands Regional Chamber.Gareth Wardell, who was the Labour MP for Gower until May 1997, was appointed by the then Secretary of State for Wales.No other Board member who has been appointed since 1 May 1997 has declared any party political activity. The only appointments made to the Board since 1 May 1997, excluding the above, were Mr. Alan Dalton and Mr Chris Hampson, the latter on his appointment as Deputy Chair of the Board. They have completed their appointments and are no longer on the Board.

Consent reference numberConsent holder and cropNearest village, town or parishGrid reference of release site
99/R21/6Novartis Seeds LtdStone, WorcestershireSO 853 748
(now Syngenta)Ramsey, CambridgeshireTL 293 877
Fodder beetBradenham, NarfolkTF 933 084
Raynham,NorfolkTF 887 258
Banham, NorfolkTM 072 889
00/R33/6Aventis CropScience UK LtdBramham, North YorksSE 446 418
(now Bayer CropScience UK Ltd)Shellingford, OxonSU 306 945
Oilseed rapeThorganby, LincolnshireTF 192 965
Sand Hutton, North YorksSE 675 583
Meden Vale, NottsSK 604 706
Felton, HerefordshireSO 561 486
Melbourn, CambrifgeshireTL 389 428
Piccots End, HertfordshireTL 049 095
Banham, NorfolkTM 088 883
01/R8/4IACR RothamstedHarpenden, HertfordshireTL 124 136
(now Rothamsted Research) Wheat
01/R29/3John Innes Centre BarleyColney, NorfolkTG 179 077
02/R4/12Advanced Technologies (Cambridge) Ltd. PotatoThornhaugh, PeterboroughTF 074 009
02/R36/01IACR-Long AshtonHarpenden, HertfordshireTL 124 136
(now Rothamsted Research) Wheat
01/R33/11Aventis CropScience Ltd.Little Bolligton, CheshireSJ 714 872
(now Bayer CropScience Ltd.)Great Moulton, NorfolkTM 165 902
Oilseed rapeAlveston/Loxley, WarksSP 231 535
Farm Scale evaluationsPiccotts End, HertfordshireTL 048 098
Bincombe, DorsetSY 692 841
Narfferton, East Riding of YorksTA 015 620
Burdon, Tyne and WearNZ 205 367
Oakenshaw, DurhamNZ 205 367
Hinton Waldrist,OxonSU 379 993
Smarden, KentTQ 882 397
Throganby, LincolnshireTF 213 972
Burgh on Bain, LincolnshireTF 227 876
Bagley, ShropshireSJ 398 268
Kilnwick Percy, East Riding of YorksSE 841 497
Laxton, East Riding of YorksSE 792 276
Lowthorpe, East Riding of YorksTA 087 602