Skip to main content

New Deal

Volume 405: debated on Thursday 22 May 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions pursuant to his Answer of 19th December, refs 85985 and 87003, if he will list Government departments and agencies that did not employ New Deal participants during the period covered by his answer. [89906]

The following agencies reported no New Deal starts between 5 January 1998 and 1 July 2002.

  • Royal Parks Agency
  • Central Science Laboratory
  • Pesticides Safety Directorate
  • Veterinary Laboratories Agency
  • Veterinary Medicines Directorate1
  • Disability and Carers Service
  • Medical Devices Agency
  • Medicines Control Agency
  • NHS Estates
  • NHS Pensions Agency
  • Companies House
  • Employment Tribunals Service
  • National Weights and Measures Laboratory
  • Office of Gas and Electricity Markets
  • Office of Telecommunications
  • Postal Services Commission
  • Government Actuary's Department
  • UK Debt Management Office
  • Forensic Science Service
  • Public Guardianship Office
  • Public Record Office
  • Fire Service College
  • Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre
  • Food Standards Agency1
  • Meat Hygiene Service
  • CPS Inspectorate
  • Northern Ireland Court Service
  • Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman
  • National Savings
  • 1 These agencies have had New Deal starts since 1 July 2002.

Information is not collected separately on the agencies of the Ministry of Defence, Inland Revenue and the Scottish Executive and could only be provided at disproportionate cost. Although this is the current situation I have written to the Cabinet Office to ask that they expand their current monitoring process to collect this information in the future.


Cabinet Office