Skip to main content

Catchment Areas (Liverpool)

Volume 406: debated on Friday 23 May 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Health what the catchment area is for patients for (a) Royal Liverpool University Hospital, (b) Royal Aintree Hospital, Liverpool, (c) Women"s Hospital, Liverpool, (d) Cardiothoracic Centre, Liverpool, (e) Alderley Hospital Trust, Liverpool and (f) the Neurological Unit, Walton. [110942]

[holding answer 6 May 2003]: The information requested has been provided in the table.

Analysis of Specified NHS Trusts and the Local PCT Populations

NHS Trust

Local PCTs

PCT Population

Aggregate PCT

Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University NHS TrustCentral Liverpool346,119604,587
North Liverpool146,550
South Liverpool111,918
University Hospital AintreeKnowsley207,934
South Sefton180,226508,508
Southport and Formby120,348

NHS Trust

Strategic Health

Royal Liverpool Children"s Trust2,611,001
Cardiothoracic Centre NHS Trust
Liverpool Women"s Hospital NHS Trust
Walton Centre for Neurology NHS Trust


(i) There will be significant numbers of patients referred from the
PCTs identified above to other healthcare providers; (ii) The
Trusts (acute and specialist) identified above will provide
healthcare to a number ofother commissioners, and this will not
be restricted to England; (iii) Specialist Trusts provide a very
limited range of services across the Strategic Health Authority;
and (iv) Due to the above it is not possible to calculate catchment
populations in the format requested.


Cheshire and Merseyside Strategic Health Authority