Skip to main content

School Capital Expenditure Projects

Volume 406: debated on Wednesday 11 June 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland how much public funding has been allocated for capital expenditure projects to each school in voluntary grammar and grant maintained sectors within the past five years. [115698]

The amount of public funding allocated to each school in the voluntary grammar and grant maintained integrated sectors for capital expenditure projects over the last five years is as follows:

£ million
SchoolsPublic funding allocated
1. Major capital projects1
Voluntary grammar schools
Thornhill College, Londonderry
(Phase 1)10.6
Royal School Dungannon8.0
St Patrick's G.S. Armagh2.0
Grant maintained integrated
Loughview Integrated P.S.0.3
Voluntary grammar schools
Drumragh Integrated College0.15
Newbridge Integrated College0.62
Integrated College Dungannon0.55
North Coast Integrated College0.61
Slemish Integrated College0.62
Malone Integrated College5.7
Voluntary grammar school
Our Lady and St. Patrick's College, Knock11.0
St Patrick's G.S. Downpatrick8.5
Thornhill College, Londonderry (Phase 2)4.2
Grant maintained integrated
Drumragh College Omagh10.2
Lagan College Belfast11.0
Voluntary Grammar Schools Integrated
Drumragh Integrated College0.14
Newbridge Integrated College.0.06
Integrated College Dungannon0.09
North Coast Integrated College0.18
Slemish Integrated College0.57
Malone Integrated College0.62
Shimna Integrated College0.03
Oakwood Integrated P.S.1.7
Spires Integrated P.S1.9
2. Specialist accommodation programme2,3 and capital development costs of grant maintained integrated schools3
Voluntary grammar schools
Convent G.S. Strabane0.5
Loreto College Coleraine0.78
St. Colman's College Newry0.44
St. Macnissis's College0.1
Grant maintained integrated
Drumragh Integrated College0.5
Newbridge Integrated College0.3
£ million
SchoolsPublic funding allocated
Integrated College Dungannon0.85
North Coast Integrated College4.6
Slemish Integrated College5.44
Voluntary grammar schools
Hunterhouse College0.25
Larne G.S.0.95
Our Lady and St. Patrick's College, Knock0.12
Portora Royal School0.77
Sullivan Upper School0.37
Royal School Armagh0.65
St. Louis G.S Ballymena0.12
St. Malachy's College Belfast0.18
Wallace H.S.0.39
Grant maintained integrated
Dominican College, Belfast13.1
Convent G.S. Enniskillen6.3
Grant maintained integrated
Cranmore Integrated P.S1.4
Voluntary grammar schools
Rathmore G.S. Belfast17.0
Grant maintained integrated
Oakgrove Integrated College12.5
Voluntary grammar schools
Ballymena Academy0.97
Bangor G.S.1.0
Belfast High School0.33
Belfast Royal Academy0.56
Coleraine Academical Institute0.38
Friends School Lisburn0.74
Larne G.S.0.16
St. Louis G.S. Ballymena0.43
St. Michael's G.S. Lurgan0.2
Wallace High School0.32
Grant maintained integrated
Newbridge Integrated College0.03
Drumragh Integrated College0.04
Integrated College Dungannon0.07
North Coast Integrated College0.7
Slemish Integrated College0.34
Malone Integrated College0.65
Voluntary grammar school
Hunterhouse College Belfast0.65
Dalriada School Ballymoney0.88
St. Michael's G.S. Enniskillen0.65
Friends School Lisburn0.4
Sullivan Upper School0.3
Grant maintained
Assumption G.S., Ballynahinch15.9
Dominican College, Portstewart0.8
Mount Lourdes G.S., Enniskillen9.7
St. Colman's College Newry1.2
St. Dominic's H.S. Belfast16.7
Abbey G.S. Newry12.2
St. Joseph's Convent G.S., Donaghmore11.6
St Patrick's Academy Dungannon17.5
Strathearn G.S. Belfast10.0
£ million
SchoolsPublic funding allocated
Grant maintained integrated
Loughview Integrated P.S (Phase 2)2.1
Omagh Integrated P.S.2.5
Windmill Integrated P.S.2.6
Voluntary grammar schools
Coleraine Academical Institute0.1
Belfast Royal Academy0.55
Ballymena Academy0.52
Belfast High School0.42
Wallace High School0.3
Grant maintained integrated
Erne Integrated P.S.0.2
Cedar Integrated P.S.0.3
Drumragh Integrated College0.1
Newbridge Integrated College0.8
Integrated College Dungannon0.2
North Coast Integrated College0.04
Slemish Integrated College0.2
Malone Integrated College0.1
Strangford Integrated College7.0
Spires Integrated P.S.0.1
Ulida Integrated College8.0
Millennium Integrated P.S.2.2
Sperrin Integrated College6.0
1 Funding announced in March preceding the financial year and for 2002–03 also in July of that year.
2 Funding to improve facilities in schools for science, technology and design and ICT.
3 Funding allocated to the project may be spent over more than one financial year depending on the length of the contract.
Financial assistance paid by NITB and DARD to all tourism projects by constituency
Belfast East01,00038,3002,2002,00010,50054,000
Belfast North01,552213,256232,51515,5295,000467,852
Belfast South2,791,802968,417555,5791,338,6511,941,76916,6867,612,904
Belfast West39,02025,34898,89820,000774,50053,0001,010,766
East Antrim562,95174,00150,61276,1631,014,280132,3301,910,337
East Londonderry366,130221,741110,575823,144473,009394,8802,389,479
Fermanagh and South Tyrone1,205,3881,261,432755,454843,6941,805,126238,3606,109,454
Lagan Valley4,6141,0365,60073,71623,83727,788136,591
Mid Ulster133,213106,406117,71594,927592,571128,0071,172,839
Newry and Armagh613,7552,087,003459,998733,3621,565,7991,765,7417,225,658
North Antrim981,459260,468543,4591,357,2111,223,975119,0134,485,585
North Down52,90731,68868,55955,87617,23110,700236,961
South Antrim1,400,4551,927,2371,290,10590,074127,41298,8424,934,125
South Down1,852,888793,9051,465,4952,539,5312,546,277475,0879,673,183
Upper Bann39,20482,912111,62282,58769,54713,806399,678
West Tyrone223,324434,010192,363443,333434,989199,9171,927,936


1. Spend in the Belfast constituencies by DARD reflect payments to organisations based in Belfast. Actual expenditure by those Organisations would have related to tourism across Northern Ireland.

2. Some events support paid by NITB between 1997–99 not included because data was not held on a constituency basis.

3. A further amount of £204,109 was spent by NITB on projects which were not constituency specific.