Skip to main content

Rail Passenger Committees

Volume 407: debated on Monday 23 June 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport if he will publish the names and addresses of the members of each rail passengers' committee, stating in each case whether they were (a) elected, (b) nominated and (c) appointed, and by whom. [121243]

Appointments to the Rail Passengers' Committees (RPCs) are subject to open competition and are carried out in accordance with the Office of the Commission for Public Appointments (OCPA) guidance. The members of the RPCs are appointed by the Chairman of the Strategic Rail Authority (SRA) after consultation with the Secretary of State for Transport, the Scottish Ministers and the National Assembly for Wales, as appropriate, and the Chairman of the Committee in question. The Committee Chairmen are appointed by the Secretary of State after consultation with the SRA and in the case of the Welsh RPC, the National Assembly for Wales. The Scottish Ministers appoint the Chairman of the Scottish RPC after consultation with the SRA. The London Assembly appoints the members and the Chairman of the London Transport Users' committee after consultation with the SRA.The names of the members and the addresses of each RPC are set out in their annual reports. Copies of the annual reports are available in the Libraries of the House.