Skip to main content

Public Appointments

Volume 408: debated on Thursday 3 July 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Parliamentary Secretary, Department for Constitutional Affairs if he will list the appointees to (a) the Imperial College Govening Body, (b) the Court of UMIST, (c) the Court of University of Hull, (d) the Court of University of Sussex, (e) the Court of University of Ulster, (f) the Court of the University of Manchester, (g) the Council for the Professions Supplementary to Medicine, (h) the General Medical Council, (i) the Royal Council of Veterinary Surgeons, (j) the Registered Homes Tribunals Panel of Experts and (k) the Royal College of Court; and which of the appointees to each body are from ethnic minorities. [122994]

The Council for Professions Supplementary to Medicine no longer exists, and the Privy Council no longer makes appointments to the Registered Homes Tribunal Panel of Experts. Privy Council appointees for the other bodies mentioned are set out as follows:

Imperial College

  • Field Marshall Lord Vincent
  • Trevor Phillips QBE
  • Ms Charlotte L Chothia
  • Balram Gidoomal
  • Sir Alastair Motion
  • Sir Peter Williams


  • Denis Robson
  • Miss Dawn Gibbins
  • Geoffrey Galley
  • Keith Beckett

University of Hull

  • Lord Haskins
  • John Trebble
  • Michael Hollingbery

University of Sussex

  • Mark Burrell
  • Mrs Gail Rebuck
  • Prof. Barry Supple

University of Ulster

  • The Lord Glentoran CBE
  • Mrs Bernadette Grant

University of Manchester

  • Dame Valerie Strachan DCB
  • Dr Inayat Khan Babar
  • Clonel John Bradford Timmins QBE TD JP
  • Ms Dawn Peters
  • Anthony Nixon

General Medical Council

  • Kevin Baron MP
  • The Very Reverend Graham Forbes
  • Robert Nicholls
  • Ruth Evans
  • Dr Arun Midha
  • Mrs Patricia Moberly
  • David Bean
  • Sir Michael Buckley
  • Mrs Gillian Camm
  • Stuart Heatherington
  • Robin McLeod
  • Dr Joan Martin
  • Fiona Peel
  • Ann Robinson

Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons

  • James M Scudamore
  • F Brian Jennings
  • Mr Martyn Jones MP
  • Mrs Barbara Saunders

Royal College of Art

  • Dr Kenneth Grange CBE

The other information requested could be provided only at disproportionate cost.