Skip to main content

Eu Committees

Volume 408: debated on Friday 11 July 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Deputy Prime Minister how many officials in the Department serve on EU committees or working parties. [116082]

11 officials from the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister serve on European Union (EU) Committees and working parties, as well as ad hoc working groups and sub-groups. Officials attend five EU Committees (the National EIA and SEA Experts Committee, the Committee for the Development and Conversion of the Regions, the Raw Materials Supply Group, Standing Committee on Construction and the Working Group on the draft Directive on waste for the extractive industries). Membership of these Committees is not fixed, and depending on the subject matter under consideration, the most appropriate policy officials attend. Officials also attend a number of related ad hoc working groups and sub-groups.