Skip to main content

Immigration Appeals Tribunal

Volume 408: debated on Friday 11 July 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Parliamentary Secretary, Department for Constitutional Affairs how many (a) full-time and (b) part-time adjudicators and how many members of the Immigration Appeals Tribunal are not British Citizens; and what their nationalities are. [125336]

Immigration adjudicators; there are currently 170 salaried adjudicators and 429 fee-paid adjudicators. The total of salaried adjudicators includes the Chief Adjudicator, the Deputy Chief Adjudicator, nine Regional Adjudicators and seven Deputy Regional Adjudicators. Of the 170 salaried adjudicators, two are not British Citizens; they are from Zimbabwe. Of the 429 fee-paid adjudicators, four are not British Citizens; one is from Eire, one from Canada, one from Zimbabwe and one from Malaysia.Immigration Appeal Tribunal members; there are currently 81 members working for the Immigration Appeals Tribunals, which includes the President, the Deputy President, full-time Vice Presidents, fee-paid lay members and fee-paid legal members. Of these, 15 were appointed at a time when nationality was not recorded. The remaining 66 are British nationals.