Skip to main content

Diagnostic And Treatment Centres

Volume 410: debated on Monday 18 August 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Health if he will list the organisations which (a) have been awarded and (b) are being considered for franchises for operating private diagnosis and treatment centres, indicating the location of each centre. [129747]

[holding answer 15 September 2003]: The Department of Health announced the shortlist of preferred bidders on 12 September 2003 that will provide new treatment centres to contribute to the Government's drive to cut waiting times for patients. The 26 areas covered by the new scheme along with the shortlist of companies is set as listed. These include two mobile units, which will deliver services to patients in towns across England. All likely preferred bidders are subject to final contract negotiation and agreement and schemes will only proceed if they provide the required level of value for money for national health service commissioners. This represents about two thirds of the total programme. Further announcements will be made in due course.The treatment centres will be based at the following locations:

  • South West Peninsula (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Lincolnshire (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Horton Hospital, North Oxford (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • North East Yorks (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Southampton (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Northumberland (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • East Berkshire (1. Slough 2. Bracknell 3. Maidenhead and 4. Windsor/Ascot) (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Didcot, Oxfordshire (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Ashford, Surrey (Mercury Health Ltd.)
  • Maidstone (Care UK Afrox)
  • Barlborough Links, Nottinghamshire (Care UK Afrox)
  • Derriford, Plymouth (Care UK Afrox)
  • Chase Farm, Barnet, London (Anglo Canadian)
  • King George Hospital, Redbridge (Anglo Canadian)
  • Royal National Throat Nose and Ear Hospital, Kings Cross (Anglo Canadian)
  • Bradford (Nations Healthcare)
  • Burton (Nations Healthcare)
  • Daventry (Birkdale Clinic)
  • Trafford, Greater Manchester (Netcare UK)
  • Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore (New York Presbyterian)
  • Shepton Mallet, Somerset (New York Presbyterian)

There will be two mobile units offering ophthalmology services in the following areas:

  • Cheshire and Merseyside (Netcare UK)
  • Cumbria and Lancashire (Netcare UK)
  • Horton, Oxfordshire (Netcare UK)
  • Wycombe, Bucks (Netcare UK)
  • North Tyneside (Netcare UK)
  • South West Oxfordshire (Netcare UK)
  • North West Peninsula (Netcare UK)
  • Dorset/Somerset (Netcare UK)
  • Kent/Medway (Netcare UK)
  • Hants and Isle of Wight (Netcare UK)
  • Surrey and Sussex (Netcare UK)
  • Thames Valley (Netcare UK)
  • The preferred bidders to run the schemes are:
  • Netcare UK (South Africa)
  • Mercury Health Ltd (UK)
  • Care UK Afrox (South Africa)
  • Anglo Canadian (Canada)
  • Nations Healthcare (USA)
  • Birkdale Clinic (UK)
  • New York Presbyterian (USA).