Skip to main content

Food Standards Agency

Volume 410: debated on Friday 19 September 2003

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Health who the committee members for the Food Standards Agency's Consumer Committee are; and how they were chosen. [130095]

The twelve members of the consumer committee are chosen in two ways, six through open competition and six nominated by the main consumer organisations. The current membership is as follows:Appointees from Open Competition

  • Nancy Robson (Chair)
  • Alison Childs (Deputy Chair)
  • Marvelle Brown
  • John Godfrey

Appointees nominated by Consumer Organisations

  • Sue Dibb (National Consumer Council)
  • Emma Copeland (Consumers' Association)
  • Sinead Furey (General Consumer Council for Northern Ireland)
  • Lucy Gillie (Scottish Consumer Council)
  • Jeanette Longfield (Sustain: the alliance for better food and farming)
  • Claire Whyley (Welsh Consumer Council)

The two vacancies are currently being filled though open competition.