Skip to main content

Index of Multiple Deprivation

Volume 447: debated on Monday 12 June 2006

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government if she will make a statement on the present composition of the Index of Multiple Deprivation. (70305)

The Index of Multiple Deprivation 2004 (IMD 2004) combines a number of indicators, chosen to cover a range of economic, social and housing issues into a single deprivation score for each lower layer super output area (SOA) (there are 32,482 SOAs in England), and are relative measurements between SOAs.

The Index is based on “super output area” level data and is made up of seven domains of deprivation. These are:


Employment deprivation

Health and Disability deprivation

Education, skills and training deprivation

Barriers to Housing and Services


Living Environment

Each of these domains is made up of a number of indicators, which best reflect the different dimensions of deprivation. The Index is based on 37 indicators in total. The indicators and domains are weighted and brought together to form the IMD 2004.