Skip to main content

Freedom of Information Users Group

Volume 447: debated on Tuesday 20 June 2006

To ask the Minister of State, Department for Constitutional Affairs who the members are of the Freedom of Information Users Group; and what their political affiliations are. (75379)

Members of the Information Rights User Group are as follows:

lan Readhead, Deputy Chief Constable of Hampshire

Peter Bottomley, MP

Adrian Pollitt

Paul Bettison

Steve Bailey

Lord Lester of Herne Hill

John Hipwood

Professor Robert Hazell

Rosemary Jay

Maurice Frankel

Anthony Kenny

Bob Satchwell

Judith Cullen

Richard Thomas, the Information Commissioner (observer)

Lord Lester is a Liberal Democrat peer. Paul Bettison is leader of Bracknell Forest borough council (Conservative) and Peter Bottomley is a Conservative MP.

Information about the political affiliations of the other members is not held. The membership has been drawn solely on the ability of the group to assist Government in ensuring that public authorities are responsive to the needs of the users of both the Freedom of Information and Data Protection Acts and the Environmental Information Regulations. Political affiliation was not used as criteria for the selection of the User Group members.