Skip to main content

Overseas Territories

Volume 447: debated on Thursday 22 June 2006

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if she will list the British Overseas Territories which have governors; how long the period of office is of each; what powers each has; and to whom each is accountable. (77662)

Governors are appointed to the Overseas Territories of Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St. Helena and its dependencies and Turks and Caicos Islands. With the exception of our high commissioner in Wellington, the non-resident governor of Pitcairn, who serves a four year tour, all governors are appointed for a Foreign and Commonwealth Office standard tour of three years, which may in some cases be extended. The constitutional powers and responsibilities of the governor are set out in the constitution of each territory. The governor of each territory is appointed by Her Majesty the Queen. As Her Majesty’s representative the governor is accountable to her through my right hon. Friend the Foreign Secretary.