Skip to main content

Judges (North-west)

Volume 448: debated on Tuesday 11 July 2006

To ask the Minister of State, Department for Constitutional Affairs what proportion of judges in the north-west are themselves from the north-west; and if she will make a statement. (83552)

The northern circuit, which covers the north-west, includes 93 circuit judges, 70 district judges, 15 district judges (magistrates courts), 177 recorders, eight deputy circuit judges and 129 deputy district judges. Judges are required to live within reasonable travelling distance of their home courts, although this need not necessarily be within the boundaries of the circuit.

Four High Court judges are especially linked to the circuit and act as the two presiding judges of the circuit, the Family Division liaison judge and the Vice-Chancellor of the County Palatine of Lancaster. They divide their time between London and the north-west. Other judges may also sit in the north-west as required.

The Department does not collect information about the place of origin of judicial office-holders.