Skip to main content

Public Appointments

Volume 449: debated on Wednesday 19 July 2006

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs how many public appointments are within her patronage; what (a) salary and (b) other emoluments are attached to each; and what the comparable figures were in (i) 1976, (ii) 1986 and (iii) 1996. (83180)

Details of the public appointments to public bodies sponsored by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) can be found in “Public Bodies”, copies of which are in the Library of the House or at the following website: “Public Bodies” has been published annually since 1980 and the most recent edition provides figures for 2005. Each edition of “Public Bodies” contains details on the number of public appointments and remuneration details for that particular year. Comparable information for 1976 in respect of the FCO could only be provided at disproportionate cost.

A summary of the FCO’s latest information on public appointments to public bodies is as follows:

Diplomatic Service Appeal Board

Chair: Vacant

Remuneration: £0

Deputy Chair: Diana Ratzer

Remuneration: £0


Remuneration is only paid when the Board meets. The Board last sat in 2004.

The Government Hospitality Advisory Committee for the Purchase of Wine

Chair: Sir David Wright

Remuneration: £0

Secretary: Robert Alexander

Remuneration: £0 Civil Servant



Wilton Park Academic Council

Chair: Dr Farhan Nizami

Remuneration: £0

Secretary: Jane Rawbone

Remuneration: £0 Civil Servant

Notes: The Wilton Park Academic Council (WPAC) oversee the conference themes and academic independence of Wilton Park Conferences, an Executive Agency of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Wilton Park is responsible for organising WPAC meetings and members are unremunerated.

British Association for Central and Eastern Europe

Chair: The right hon. Lord Radice

Remuneration: £0

Director: Nicholas Jarrold

Remuneration: £48,000 per annum

Notes: The Chair is appointed by the British Association for Central and Eastern Europe with the approval of the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs.

The British Council

Chair: Lord Kinnock

Remuneration: £0

Chief Executive: Sir David Green

Remuneration: £149,576



Great Britain-China Centre (The)

Chair: Peter Batey, OBE

Remuneration: £0


The Chair is elected by the Executive Committee, with the approval of the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs. All new members of the Executive Committee are elected by the Executive Committee.

Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission

Chair: Jonathan Taylor

Remuneration: £0

Executive Secretary: Dr John Kirkland

Remuneration: £0



Westminster Foundation for Democracy (The)

Chair: Hugh Bayley, MP

Remuneration: £0

Chief Executive: David French

Remuneration: £99,066 per annum


Government funding is by FCO Grant in Aid. Other expenditure is from special purpose grants.

BBC World Service (Including BBC Monitoring) (BBCWS)

Director BBCWS: Nigel Chapman

Remuneration: £228,000 per annum


Remuneration: £0


Chair, Deputy and members are the same as those for the BBC, and are listed only under that body (Department for Culture, Media and Sport Public Corporation) to avoid double-counting. The total gross expenditure figure shown above is gross expenditure from WS accounts plus BBCM accounts.

Foreign Compensation Commission

Chairman (part-time): Dr John Barker

Remuneration: Fee-paid on a daily basis. Budget allocation is £20,000 per annum

Secretary and Chief Examiner (part-time): Barrie England

Remuneration: £11,200 per annum



Ad Hoc Advisory Groups

All of the information that follows refers to Boards chaired by Officials or Ministers:

Caribbean Board

Chair: Colleen Harris and Pat Ramsey/Marilla Logan (job-share)


The Caribbean Board provides advice and runs projects.

Consular Strategy Board

Chair: Rob Macaire, Director of Consular Services


The aim and remit of the Board is to develop the Consular Strategy: In partnership, to investigate and debate the key challenges identified in that Strategy and the National Audit Office report on Consular Services, and to help Consular Directorate identify emerging trends and advise on potential difficulties of any proposed policies.

Public Diplomacy Strategy Board



This group ceased operation on 30 January 2006 following Lord Carter's review of Public Diplomacy and was replaced by new Public Diplomacy Board, with the same status but different membership (see below).

Public Diplomacy Board

Chair: Lord Triesman


The aim of the Public Diplomacy Board is to improve public diplomacy effectiveness by:

Setting the strategic direction of UK public diplomacy;

Monitoring and evaluating the outcomes;

Making recommendations on resource allocation.

Travel Advice Review Group

Chair: Rob Macaire, Director of Consular Services


The Travel Advice Review Group (TARG) was set up at the request of my right hon. Friend the former Foreign Secretary (Mr. Straw) following completion of the Review of FCO Travel Advice in 2004. The group comprises mainly the stakeholders to the review, i.e. those from all walks of the travel and tourism industry as well as insurance, airlines, non-governmental organisations, the Confederation of British Industry and travel publications. The purpose of the TARG is to discuss issues relating to FCO travel advice that are of common interest.

UK India Round Table

Chair: Right hon. Lord Barnes CH


Members of the UK India Round Table are invited by my right hon. friend the Foreign Secretary to become members. Current members are:

Sir Tim Lankester

Bryan K. Sanderson CBE

Professor Dame Sandra Dawson DBE

Sir Mark Tully

Ms Patience Wheatcroft

Karan F. Bilimoria CBE DL

Richard Lambert

Dr Tidu Maini BSc ACGI DIG PhD

Nick Pearce

Jon Snow

Malcolm Chalmers

Members receive no remuneration apart from expenses.