Skip to main content

Law Commission Chairman

Volume 449: debated on Monday 24 July 2006

My noble Friend the Secretary of State and Lord Chancellor, Lord Falconer has made the following written ministerial statement;

“I have appointed Mr. Justice Terence Etherton to be chairman of the Law Commission from 1 August 2006. He succeeds Mr. Justice Roger Toulson whose term of office will then be completed.

I have decided that the needs of the Law Commission are usually best met by having a member of the senior judiciary as chairman. This follows a consultation in the 2004 consultation paper, Appointment of Law Commissioners, and the response paper issued in 2005. As a result I have decided to propose to Parliament amendments to the Law Commissions Act 1965 so that the chairman can be recruited from the senior judiciary as and when appropriate. I will do so when legislative time and opportunity allows.”