Skip to main content

Spearhead Primary Care Trust Areas

Volume 449: debated on Monday 11 September 2006

The Government have set Public Service Agreement targets to address geographical inequalities in life expectancy, cancer, heart disease, stroke and related diseases. The targets aim to see faster progress compared to the average in the “fifth of areas with the worst health and deprivation indicators”. Achievement of the targets will be assessed on the outcomes for this group in 2010. The local authorities and primary care trusts which make these areas are the Health Inequalities Spearhead Group.

The Spearhead group is defined on local authority data and consist of 70 local authorities that are then mapped onto primary care trust boundaries.

Revised primary care trusts boundaries were announced on 19 May. Following the reconfiguration, the spearhead group list has been refreshed to take account of the new primary care trust boundaries. The list of 70 Spearhead group local authorities (that has not changed) and the revised list of 62 primary care trusts that map to them is as follows:

Local Authorities in the Spearhead GroupPrimary Care Trusts in the Spearhead GroupBarking and DagenhamBarnsleyBarrow-in-FurnessBirminghamBlackburn with DarwenBlackpoolBlyth ValleyBolsoverBoltonBradfordBurnleyBuryCarlisleChester-le-StreetCorbyCoventryDerwentsideDoncasterEasingtonGatesheadGreenwichHackneyHaltonHammersmith and FulhamHaringeyHartlepoolHyndburnIslingtonKingston upon Hull, City ofKnowsleyLambethLeicesterLewishamLincolnLiverpoolManchesterMiddlesbroughNewcastle upon TyneNewhamNorth East LincolnshireNorth TynesideNottinghamNuneaton and BedworthOldhamPendlePrestonRedcar and ClevelandRochdaleRossendaleRotherhamSalfordSandwellSedgefieldSouth TynesideSouthwarkSt. HelensStockton-on-TeesStoke-on-TrentSunderlandTamesideTamworthTower HamletsWakefieldWalsallWansbeckWarringtonWear ValleyWiganWirralWolverhamptonAshton, Leigh and Wigan PCTBarking & Dagenham PCTBarnsley PCTBirmingham East & North PCTBlackburn with Darwen PCTBlackpool PCTBolton PCTBradford PCTBury PCTCentral Lancashire PCTCity and Hackney PCTCounty Durham PCTCoventry PCTCumbria PCTDerbyshire County PCTDoncaster PCTEast Lancashire PCTGateshead PCTGreenwich PCTHalton & St Helens PCTHammersmith & Fulham PCTHaringey PCTHartlepool PCTHeart of Birmingham PCTHull Teaching PCTIslington PCTKnowsley PCTLambeth PCTLeicester City PCTLewisham PCTLincolnshire PCTLiverpool PCTManchester PCTMiddlesbrough PCTNewcastle PCTNewham PCTNorth East Lincolnshire PCTNorth Tyneside PCTNorthamptonshire County PCTNorthumberland Care TrustNottingham PCTOldham PCTRedcar & Cleveland PCTRochdale PCTRotherham PCTSalford PCTSandwell PCTSouth Birmingham PCTSouth Tyneside PCTSouthwark PCTStaffordshire County PCTStockton-on-Tees Teaching PCTStoke on Trent PCTSunderland PCTTameside & Glossop PCTTower Hamlets PCTWakefield PCTWalsall PCTWarrington PCTWarwickshire PCTWirral PCTWolverhampton PCT