Skip to main content

Falkland Islands

Volume 450: debated on Wednesday 11 October 2006

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence which units are stationed in the Falkland Islands. (89670)

The units stationed in the Falkland Islands are as follows:

Joint Units

Falkland Islands Joint Logistic Unit

Falkland Islands Support Unit

Joint Communications Unit Falkland Islands

Joint Services Provost and Security Unit

Joint Services Signals Unit

Maritime Units

Falkland Islands Patrol Vessel: HMS Dumbarton Castle

Naval Engineering Falkland Islands: Supports HMS Dumbarton Castle and other Royal Navy assets that deploy to the Falkland Islands

Land Unit

Roulement Infantry Coy: Currently provided by 1st Battalion The Royal Welsh (Royal Welch Fusiliers)

Air Units

905 Expeditionary Air Wing, comprising:

1435 Flight: 4 x Tornado F3 Air Defence fighters

1312 Flight: 1 x VC10, supporting 1435 Flight with air-to-air refuelling

1 x C130, providing airborne maritime patrol capability

78 Sqn: 2 x RAF Sea King Search and Rescue helicopters

2 x Sikorski S61 helicopters (operated by British International for routine movements of personnel and freight)

Resident Rapier Sqn: 3 x RAF Fire Units

Falkland Islands Air Defence Ground Environment: Remotely deployed Early Warning Radars

Support Elements: Air Traffic Control, Fire and Meteorological Services

In addition to the permanent units listed above, Atlantic Patrol Task (South) deploys either a frigate or destroyer, supported by a Royal Fleet Auxiliary vessel, into the Falkland Islands Joint Operations Area for the majority of the year.