Skip to main content

EU Member States (Visa Requirements)

Volume 450: debated on Monday 23 October 2006

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what discussions she has had with the governments of (a) Bulgaria and (b) Romania on the visa requirements that will be imposed on (i) UK citizens and (ii) UK subjects on the accession of these states to the European Union. (92767)

The Secretary of State has not discussed these requirements with the Bulgarian or Romanian authorities.

There is currently no visa requirement for British citizens travelling to either Bulgaria or Romania for a stay under 90 days. For Bulgaria, if British citizens wish to stay beyond 90 days, they must obtain a visa prior to their stay. For Romania, British citizens must apply for temporary Residence Permits from the Passport Office for Foreigners in Bucharest. Following EU accession, EU legislation on the right of Free Movement of Persons will apply.

British subjects travelling to Bulgaria or Romania, must obtain a visa prior to travel. This will continue to apply following EU accession.