Skip to main content

Departmental Officials

Volume 454: debated on Monday 11 December 2006

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs how many officials from her Department are based in (a) Israel and (b) the Occupied Palestinian Territories on a(i) temporary and (ii) permanent basis; and what the length of service in each location is of each official. (108263)

There are 14 Foreign and Commonwealth Office staff on substantive postings at the British Consulate-General in Jerusalem and 17 at the British embassy in Tel Aviv.

Tours of duty are usually between two and three years, but can be extended or reduced in some circumstances.