Skip to main content

Boundary Commission

Volume 454: debated on Wednesday 13 December 2006

To ask the Minister of State, Department for Constitutional Affairs who the members are of the Boundary Commission for England; what qualifications are required for appointment to the Commission; and what criteria are used to appoint members. (108431)

The Chairman of the Boundary Commission is the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Deputy Chairman is the Honourable Mr. Justice Sullivan, and the two other Boundary Commissioners are Michael Lewer, CBE, QC, and Robin Gray.

The position of Chairman of the Boundary Commission is ex officio for the Speaker of the House of Commons. The Deputy Chairman must be a High Court judge. There are no specific qualifications required for the other Boundary Commissioner positions.

There are no statutory criteria for appointments to the Boundary Commission for England. Prospective appointees will generally be expected to provide evidence of an ability to: understand and apply legislation; give objective consideration to sometimes lengthy representations, many of which will express conflicting views; and deliver recommendations supported by sound reasoning.