Skip to main content

NHS Foundation Trusts

Volume 456: debated on Wednesday 31 January 2007

The chairman of Monitor, the statutory name of which is the Independent Regulator of NHS Foundation Trusts, has today announced that, in accordance with section 6 of the Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Act 2003, Monitor has decided to authorise the following NHS acute trusts as NHS Foundation Trusts from 1 February 2007:

County Durham and Darlington Acute Hospitals NHS Trust;

The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust;

Birmingham Children's Hospital NHS Trust; and

Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Trust

Monitor's announcement brings the total number of NHS Foundation Trusts to 58. A copy of Monitor's press notice has been placed in the Library.

NHS Foundation Trusts are the centrepiece of structural reform for NHS providers in acute and mental health services. The Government are committed to offering all NHS trusts the opportunity to become NHS Foundation Trusts at soon as is practicable, and further waves are set to follow. Monitor is now authorising trusts on a monthly basis.