Skip to main content

British Overseas Territories

Volume 457: debated on Thursday 8 March 2007

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs which (a) uninhabited and (b) other overseas island territories are UK possessions. (125860)

The British Overseas Territories of the British Antarctic Territory, the British Indian Ocean Territory, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands have no indigenous populations. The other British Overseas Territories are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, the Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, the Pitcairn Islands, St. Helena and its dependencies (Ascension and Tristan da Cunha), the Turks and Caicos Islands, and the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in Cyprus. The British Antarctic Territory and Gibraltar are not islands.