Skip to main content

Embassies: Closures

Volume 459: debated on Tuesday 1 May 2007

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs which UK (a) embassies and (b) consulates have been closed in each of the last three years. (134627)

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has closed nine embassies and high commissions over the last three years. Fifteen consulates have been closed over the same period of time. These missions are listed in the following table. In addition, six commercial and information offices, staffed by locally engaged staff were also closed.

The FCO continuously reviews the deployment of its resources and aligns them flexibly in line with UK interests to the benefit of the British taxpayer.

Missions closed

Year: 1 April to 31 March

Embassies/High Commissions



Douala1, Tarawa1 and Oporto


Nassau, Abidjan2, Maseru, Antananarivo, Asuncion, Mbabane, Nuku' alofa and Port Vila

Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Fukuoka1, Dallas, San Juan1 and Aden1



Adelaide1, Hamburg, Nagoya, Kingstown1, Gothenburg and Seattle1

1 Consulates staffed by locally engaged staff only. 2 Operations at this embassy have been suspended due to the uncertain security situation in the Ivory Coast.