Skip to main content

Financial Services: Disadvantaged

Volume 463: debated on Thursday 19 July 2007

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer (1) what the membership is of the ministerial working group to determine detailed priorities for financial inclusion policy, announced on page 10 of the Financial inclusion: the way forward; and if he will place in the Library copies of the agendas of the group’s meetings; (150168)

(2) what the membership is of the Financial Inclusion Taskforce.

[holding answer 17 July 2007]: The ministerial working group for financial inclusion is chaired by the Economic Secretary to the Treasury and includes ministers from the following Departments:

Department for Work and Pensions;

Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform;

Ministry of Justice;

Cabinet Office; and

Department for Communities and Local Government.

The first meeting of the group took place on 12 June 2007. The agenda for the meeting focused on building the evidence base for policy options to achieve the Government’s objectives for financial inclusion—to ensure that everyone has access to appropriate financial services, enabling them to:

manage their money on a day-to-day basis, effectively,

securely and confidently;

plan for the future and cope with financial pressure; and

deal effectively with financial distress.

The membership of the Financial Inclusion Taskforce is as follows:

Benny Higgins, Chief Executive Officer, Retail, HBOS Group plc;

Elaine Kempson, Professor of Personal Finance and Social Policy Research and Director of the Personal Finance Research Centre at Bristol University;

Chris Lendrum, former Vice Chairman of Barclays plc;

Mark Lyonette, Chief Executive of the Association of British Credit Unions Ltd.;

Bridget McIntyre, UK Chief Executive Officer of Royal and Sun Alliance Insurance Group plc;

Bernie Morgan, Chief Executive of the Community Development Finance Association;

Nick Pearson, National Debt Advice Coordinator, Advice UK;

Teresa Perchard, Director of Policy, Citizens Advice;

Brian Pomeroy (chair), former Senior Partner of Deloitte Consulting;

Faith Reynolds, Co-ordinator, Transact, the national forum for financial inclusion;

Susan Rice, Chief Executive Officer, Lloyds TSB Scotland plc;

Danielle Walker Palmour, Director, Friends Provident Foundation;

Claire Whyley; Deputy Director of Policy, National Consumer Council.

Further information on the Financial Inclusion Taskforce can be found at: