Skip to main content

Departments: Ministerial Responsibilities

Volume 464: debated on Monday 8 October 2007

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government what the ministerial responsibilities of each of her ministerial team are. (156516)

The ministerial responsibilities of each member of the CLG ministerial team are outlined as follows.

Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government

Right hon. Hazel Blears MP

Overall responsibility for the Department and its policies, including departmental strategic objectives (DSOs); public service agreement (PSA) targets; comprehensive spending review settlement

Empowering communities and citizens

Olympics legacy

Minister for Housing

Yvette Cooper MP

Lead responsibility for: housing policy and programmes (Homebuy and shared ownership, low and zero-carbon housing, eco-towns, homelessness, HMR pathfinders, social housing, HIPs), including housing elements of the comprehensive spending review and PSAs; and planning reform (town and country planning); and representing the Department in Cabinet on these areas of policy

Physical and housing-related regeneration and sponsor minister for new Homes Agency implementation

Housing and Regeneration Bill

Urban policy and design

Sustainable development and climate change: including the code for sustainable homes and building regulations

Minister for the Thames Gateway, new growth points and growth areas

Olympics legacy issues

Minister for Local Government

John Healey MP

Lead responsibility for local government policy and finance, including local government pensions and Supporting People

Cities and regions (including lead minister for the Greater London Authority Bill)

Government offices

Neighbourhood renewal and tackling disadvantage (including neighbourhood renewal fund; new deal for communities; LEGI)

Planning for major infrastructure, and the Planning Bill

Resilience and recovery from flooding

Overview of fire and rescue service

Community engagement and empowerment; Quirk review

Overview of liveability

Joint Chair of the London Resilience Forum

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

Parmjit Dhanda MP

Cohesion (including joint chair of Migration Impacts Forum)

Preventing violent extremism

Fire and rescue service

Support on local government policy and finance (including local government pensions)

Sponsor Minister for Valuation Tribunal Service

Planning casework for East Midlands; East; London; South East; Olympics cases; (includes all cases in the growth areas)

Support on planning for major infrastructure, and the Planning Bill

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

Iain Wright MP

Support on all aspects of housing policy and programmes and town and country planning, and physical and housing-related regeneration, including decent homes, housing market renewal, and homelessness

Support for Housing and Regeneration Bill

Support on urban policy and urban design; code for sustainable homes; building regulations

Climate change and sustainable development

Ordnance Survey (shareholder Minister)

Phone masts

Sponsor for Audit Commission

Gypsies and Travellers

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

Baroness Andrews of Southover

Departmental business in the House of Lords

Responsibility for departmental contribution to the Respect agenda

Support on Supporting People (including individual budgets)

Support on neighbourhood renewal and tackling disadvantage (including neighbourhood renewal fund; new deal for communities; LEGI)


Planning casework for Yorkshire and Humber; North East; South West; West Midlands; North West

Planning inspectorate sponsor

Ordnance Survey (client Minister)

Disabled facilities grant

National strategy for an ageing society

Third sector strategy

Supporting on community engagement and empowerment; Quirk review

Digital inclusion

Champion Minister for culture and regeneration