Skip to main content

Cayman Islands: Politics and Government

Volume 464: debated on Tuesday 9 October 2007

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs why the constitution of the Cayman Islands varies from other overseas territories of comparable size in that the Governor chairs the Cabinet and there is no premier or chief minister; and if he will make a statement. (155811)

Each overseas territory constitution is different. The differences reflect the constitutional development of the territory at the time the constitution was agreed. The Cayman Islands constitution came into force in 1972.

In the Cayman Islands, the governor presides at meetings of the cabinet. This is the case in all other Caribbean overseas territories. In Bermuda, the Premier presides.

The office of Leader of Government Business was established by the Cayman Islands (Constitution) (Amendment) Order 2003 and the holder of this office performs a role similar to the Premier or Chief Minister in other overseas territories.