Skip to main content

NATO Rapid Reaction Corps

Volume 464: debated on Wednesday 17 October 2007

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence which military units form the UK’s current commitment to the NATO Response Force. (158395)

The NATO Response Force is a high-readiness reaction force which comprises four elements (maritime, land, air and special forces) to which allies contribute forces on a six-month rotating basis. The UK is providing the Maritime Component Command for the current rotation of the NATO Response Force (July 2007 to January 2008). The UK forces supporting the Maritime Component Command are drawn, as required, from the Joint Rapid Reaction Force and comprise a carrier group with associated air and surface assets, amphibious forces, naval mine counter measures units, and auxiliary support vessels. In addition, the UK is making some air-to-air refuelling and in-theatre lift assets available to the Air Component Command.