Skip to main content


Volume 470: debated on Monday 7 January 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs pursuant to the answer of 10 December 2007, Official Report, column 159W, on embassies, which countries no longer have a resident British Ambassador, Consul General or High Commissioner. (174843)

There is no resident British diplomatic representation in American Samoa, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Republic of the), Djibouti, Dominica, East Timor, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niger, Palau, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, Suriname, Swaziland, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Posts in Côte d’Ivoire and Haiti are temporarily closed for security reasons.

In countries where there is no British resident presence, an accredited ambassador resident in a neighbouring country represents the UK.