Skip to main content

Patients: Safety

Volume 471: debated on Wednesday 30 January 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Health what incident types are used for entries in the National Reporting and Learning System in England and Wales. (180885)

The current version of the National Patient Safety Agency's National Reporting and Learning System dataset comprises 15 categories of incident type.

The 15 categories are

access, admission, transfer, discharge (including missing patient);

clinical assessment (including diagnosis, scans, tests, assessments);

consent, communication, confidentiality;

disruptive, aggressive behaviour;

documentation (including records, identification);

implementation of care and ongoing monitoring/review;

infection Control Incident;

infrastructure (including staffing, facilities, environment);

medical device/equipment;


patient abuse (by staff/third party);

patient accident;

self-harming behaviour;

treatment, procedure; and