Skip to main content

British Overseas Territories

Volume 472: debated on Thursday 21 February 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what provisions of the Bill of Rights 1689 apply to the United Kingdom’s overseas territories; and if he will make a statement. (188070)

The Bill of Rights 1688 (not 1689) is a UK Act of Parliament, which is not specifically stated to extend to the overseas territories. However, it is clear that the provisions relating to the succession of the Crown, in addition to England, France and Ireland, apply to the dominions, which include all territories under the sovereignty of the Crown.