Skip to main content

Police Authorities: Westminster

Volume 472: debated on Wednesday 27 February 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department which (a) police authority area, (b) police force area and (c) criminal justice area each Westminster parliamentary constituency is in for reporting purposes. (188514)

With the exception of the seat of the Cities of London and Westminster, all constituencies in England and Wales will be in co-terminal police areas, police authority areas and criminal justice areas, which will have the same name. For example, the seat of Epsom and Ewell is within the Surrey police area, the Surrey police authority area and the Surrey criminal justice area.

The seat of the Cities of London and Westminster is unique as it shares two police areas and two police authority areas, namely the Metropolitan area and that of the City of London. It falls within the London criminal justice area.

I have placed in the House Library a full list of the police area, police authority area and the criminal justice area of each constituency in England and Wales.