Skip to main content

Elderly: Nutrition

Volume 472: debated on Monday 3 March 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Health (1) pursuant to the answer of 13 December 2007, Official Report, column 864W, on the elderly: nutrition, whether the membership of his Department’s Nutrition Action Plan Delivery Board has been decided; (185597)

(2) if he will include a National Patient Safety Agency representative on the Nutrition Action Plan Delivery Board.

Yes. The membership of the Nutrition Action Plan Delivery Board, which met for the first time on 12 February, is shown in the following table. The Board consists of a Core Group, chaired by Gordon Lishman, Director General of Age Concern. There will also be five sub-groups, each chaired by a member of the Core Group (one for each of the key priority actions listed in the Nutrition Action Plan).

Core group members


Gordon Lishman

Chair—Age Concern

Key Members

Josie Spencer

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Debbie Dzik-Jurasz

Royal College of Nursing

Liz Mandeville

Local Government Association

Philip Hurst

Age Concern

Jo Webber

NHS Confederation

Stuart Haines

British Association of Medical Managers

Sarah Smithers

Patient Representative

Policy officials (x 6)

Department of Health

Sub group chairs

Awareness Raising

Rick Wilson (Chair)

Council of Europe UK


Julie Jones (Chair)

Social Care Institute for Excellence


Prof. Marinos Elia (Chair)

Chair-British Association for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition


Ros Speight (Chair)

Interagency Round Table Group

Inspection and Regulation.

Virginia Storey (Co-Chair)

Commission for Social Care Inspection

Rekha Elaswarapu (Co-Chair)

The Healthcare Commission

Minutes of the meeting on February 12 will be placed on the Department’s website in due course.

The National Patient Safety Agency (NPSA) is in contact with the Department on a regular basis to account for policy developments on nutrition and other patient safety issues. Anything we learn from the NPSA will be used to brief the Nutrition Action Plan Delivery Board.