Skip to main content

Health Education: Sex

Volume 473: debated on Monday 17 March 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Children, Schools and Families what the career of each member of the review of sex and relationship education has been to date; what criteria were used in selecting them; if he will make it a requirement that the review (a) hears evidence from pro-life and pro-choice experts and (b) appoints a balance of pro-life and pro-choice advisers; how (i) hon. Members and (ii) members of the public may submit comments to the review; if he will place in the Library material published by the review; and if he will make a statement. (192525)

The names and job titles/positions of the people that have been invited to oversee the review of sex and relationships education (SRE) in schools, are set out as follows. Members were selected on the basis that they have either: expert knowledge on the delivery of SRE; expert knowledge on young people's sexual health; or represent groups who have a key interest in the outcome of the review.

The Steering Group therefore includes: professionals who plan and deliver SRE programmes in schools; senior managers and governors who have overall responsibility for the SRE programmes that schools deliver; experts in young people's sexual health; representatives of faith organisations; and young people themselves.

Members of the Steering Group have not been selected with regard to their attitudes to abortion, but we believe that different shades of opinion are represented on the Group.

We are considering how to extend opportunities for individuals and organisations which are not represented on the steering group to feed ideas and comments into the review, and will announce decisions on this issue shortly. Any material that is published will be placed in the House of Commons Library.

SRE review steering group: membership

Jim Knight (co-chair)

Jackie Fisher (co-chair)—principal, Newcastle college

Joshua McTaggart (co-chair)—member of UK Youth Parliament

John Freeman—Director of Children' Services, Dudley

Hazel Pulley—primary school head teacher, Leicester

Hilda Hodson—secondary school deputy head teacher, Wigan

Charlie Ware—school governor, Camden

Desmond Flood—school PSHE co-ordinator, Birmingham

Annie Hargreaves—local authority adviser on PSHE and healthy schools, Hounslow

Anna Martinez—head of sex education forum

Chris McDermott—school nurse manager, Surrey

Professor Roger Ingham—University of Southampton

Gill Frances—head of child development, National Children's Bureau

Simon Blake—chief executive, Brook

Jan Campbell—PSHE Subject Association

Margaret Jones—Ofsted PSHE lead

Gareth Davies—Terrence Higgins Trust

Oona Stannard—Catholic Education Service

Rev'd David Whittington—Church of England National Society

Anthea Cox—Methodist church

Shaila Sheikh—local authority education equalities adviser, East Sussex

David Kesterton—Manager of fpa's ‘Speakeasy’ programme

Robert Sassoon—member of UK Youth Parliament

Katrina Mather—Member of UK Youth Parliament