Skip to main content

NHS Foundation Trusts

Volume 474: debated on Tuesday 1 April 2008

The chairman of Monitor (the statutory name of which is the independent regulator of NHS foundation trusts) announced this week that, in accordance with section 35 of the National Health Service Act 2006, Monitor has decided to authorise the following NHS acute and mental health trusts as NHS foundation trust from 1 April:

The Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Trust;

Medway NHS Trust; and

Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust.

Monitor’s announcement brings the total number of NHS foundation trusts to 92. A copy of Monitor’s press notice has been placed in the Library.

The Government remain committed to offering all NHS acute and mental health trusts the opportunity to apply for foundation status as soon as practicable. Monitor is now authorising trusts on a monthly basis, and further waves of NHS foundation trusts are set to follow.