Skip to main content


Volume 474: debated on Tuesday 1 April 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs pursuant to the answer of 6 March 2008, Official Report, column 2792W, on television, if he will list each individual internal department in his Department. (195578)

[holding answer 20 March 2008]: A list of internal departments within the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) on 26 March 2008 is given. The FCO is composed of directorates and other teams. Departments are listed by directorate. Where a directorate is not divided into departments, or where a team exists outside a directorate, these directorates and teams are listed separately. The organisational structure of the FCO changes and this list reflects the situation on the current date. Asterisks have been used to show where an FCO unit is jointly managed by the FCO and other Whitehall Departments.

Africa Directorate

Africa Department (Equatorial)

Africa Department (Southern)

Pan Africa Policy Unit

Sudan Unit

Americas Directorate

Caribbean, Mexico and Central America Team

North America Team

South America Team

Asia-Pacific Directorate

Far Eastern Group

South East Asia and Pacific Group

Communication Directorate

Internal Communication and Public Relations Group

Press Office

Public Diplomacy Group

Consular Directorate

Consular Assistance Group

Consular Crisis Group

Passport and Documentary Services Group

Consular Resources Group

Consular Strategy, Communications and Training Group

Directorate for Defence and Strategic Threats

Counter Proliferation Department

Counter Terrorism Department

Drugs and International Crime Department

Europe Directorate

Europe Delivery Group

Europe Global Group

Enlargement South East and Wider Europe Group

Western Mediterranean Group

Western Balkans Group

FCO Response Centre

FCO Services

Finance Directorate

Global and Economic Issues Directorate

Climate Change and Energy Group

Global Economy Group

Science and Innovation Group

Sustainable Development and Business Group

Human Resources Directorate

Information and Technology Directorate

International Security Directorate

Conflict Group

Human Rights, Democracy and Good Governance Group

International Organisations Department

Security Policy Department

Stabilisation Unit*

Legal Advisers

Middle East and North Africa Directorate

Arab Israel and North Africa Group

Arabian Peninsula Group

Iran Coordination Group

Iraq Group

Migration Directorate

Ministerial Offices

Ministerial Support Unit

Overseas Territories Directorate

Parliamentary Relations Team

Permanent Under Secretary's Office

Policy Planning Staff

Protocol Directorate

Russia, South Caucasus and Central Asia Directorate

Security and Estates Directorate

South Asia and Afghanistan Directorate

Afghanistan Group

Afghanistan Drugs Interdepartmental Unit

South Asia Group


UK Trade and Investment*