Skip to main content

Russia: Politics and Government

Volume 474: debated on Thursday 24 April 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what assessment he has made of Russian policy towards independence of (a) South Ossetia, (b) Abkhazia and (c) Kosovo. (198885)

Russia, like the UK, does not recognise South Ossetia or Abkhazia as independent states. In successive Resolutions, most recently Resolution 1781 (2007), the UN Security Council has reaffirmed the commitment of all member states to the sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognised borders. We look to Russia to use her influence constructively to help bring about the peaceful settlement of both unresolved conflicts.

Russia does not recognise Kosovo as an independent state. The UK recognised Kosovo on 18 February 2008.