Skip to main content

Armed Forces: Cadets

Volume 475: debated on Wednesday 7 May 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence how many cadet forces were disbanded in each year since 1997. (199490)

The MOD sponsors four cadet forces: the Combined Cadet Force; the Sea Cadet Corps; the Army Cadet Force and the Air Training Corps. All four cadet forces have a long history and none have been disbanded.

Individual contingents/units/detachments/squadrons within each cadet force are formed and disbanded as the particular demands and aspirations of the communities they serve fluctuate. Information has not previously been held centrally. However, since 2007 the net change in cadet units is:

Combined Cadet Force—net gain 18 contingents.

Sea Cadet Corps—net loss nine units.

Army Cadet Force—net gain 22 detachments.

Air Training Corps—net gain two squadrons.