Skip to main content

Draft marine bill (joint committee)

Volume 475: debated on Thursday 8 May 2008


That this House concurs with the Lords Message of 2nd April, that it is expedient that a Joint Committee of Lords and Commons be appointed to consider and report on any draft Marine Bill presented to both Houses by a Minister of the Crown.


That a Select Committee of eleven members be appointed to join with the Committee appointed by the Lords to consider the draft Marine Bill (Cm 7351).

That the Committee should report on the draft Bill by 22nd July 2008.

That the Committee shall have power—

(i) to send for persons, papers and records;

(ii) to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House;

(iii) to report from time to time;

(iv) to appoint specialist advisers; and

(v) to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom.

That Linda Gilroy, Nia Griffith, Anne Main, Martin Salter, Sir Peter Soulsby, Mr Robert Syms, Paddy Tipping, Mr Charles Walker, Joan Walley, Dr Alan Whitehead and Mr Roger Williams be members of the Committee.—[Liz Blackman.]