Skip to main content

Committee on the Grant of Honours Decorations and Medals

Volume 475: debated on Friday 16 May 2008

To ask the Prime Minister who the members are of the Committee on Honours, Decorations and Medals; to what role each was appointed; what relevant experience each has; how long each has served on the Committee; for what period the appointment of each runs; and if he will make a statement. (203505)

I have been asked to reply.

Secretariat support for the Committee on the Grant of Honours, Decorations and Medals is provided by the Ceremonial Secretariat based in the Cabinet Office. The cost of the secretariat is accounted for in the departmental report and accounts.

The committee is made up of the following members:

Cabinet Secretary and Head of the Home Civil Service (Chair)

Private Secretary to The Sovereign

Permanent Secretary, Prime Minister's Office

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence

Defence Services Secretary

Permanent Secretary Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Permanent Secretary, Home Office

Secretary of the Central Chancery of the Orders of Knighthood

Ceremonial Officer of the Cabinet Office (Secretary).

All members of the committee have extensive careers in public administration and/or as members of the armed forces or the diplomatic service. As the posts are ex officio, members serve on the committee while they hold their current posts.

It is established practice not to disclose the details of internal discussion and advice.